The Dashboard (Pt 1)

car dashboard

Booking under: Keith

As a driver, I constantly pay attention to my dashboard. The dashboard tells me how fast I’m going, what lights/switches I’ve turned on, and how much gas is left in the tank.

So as we design our (work) lives, Bill Burnett and Dave Evans suggest we look at our own personal dashboards. As we examine how we’re doing in terms of health, work, play, and love, we get a better understanding of which things we want/need to change.

Without further ado, here’s my health/work/play/love dashboard:

Health

doctors

As much as I respect doctors, I really don’t hope to visit them soon (or at all).

As I previously shared on this blog, I was sick to close out 2016. A bad viral infection caused recurring fevers for almost 3 weeks and landed me in the hospital for the last week.

But aside from that incident, I’ve been very fortunate to enjoy good health. I play football at least once a week and have recently started to run on a weekly basis to get a little more exercise in.

On a spiritual level, I attend weekly church services and do some quick Bible-reading each morning. Starting my mornings by reminding myself of God’s word and goodness keeps me optimistic before a full day of work.

Overall: 3/4

Work

google analytics on mac

Google Analytics on a Macbook? That’s me at work (minus the cookies and coffee on the right)

As a content strategist for a tech company, I’ve enjoyed furthering my knowledge on content management, search engine optimization, user experience design, and online privacy thought leadership. I’m lucky to work in a flexible environment, and have learnt a lot by working with a team of supportive and talented colleagues.

Work hours are not bad, and even though the new year has brought along a truckload of new projects and responsibility, I am glad that my overtimes haven’t shot to ridiculous levels. My work keeps me busy, allows me to produce content that (I hope) benefits others, and is a stable source of income. However, mixed in with the good days would be times when I just wonder, “what am I doing or working towards?” Perhaps this is an area to explore further.

Outside of my day job, the only other “work” I can think of is the book I’ve been working on since 2016. Confession: I’ve been slacking on that so I better get back on it!

Overall: 2/4

Play

football stadium

Who knew a round ball on an open surface can bring so much joy?

“Work hard, play hard” is a motto for many people. For me, a more accurate one might be “work hard, play football”. While other people have hobbies that they love, I always look forward to the next opportunity to play “the beautiful game”. As I compete on the pitch, all my everyday worries are gone, and I can focus on one thing: helping my team win. Football also challenges me to be creative with how I play and is a great way to exercise. What can be better?

Aside from football, I take the time to play video games every now and then. From straightforward shooters like Call of Duty to more philosophical entries like Bioshock, games allow me to unwind in a fictional world and occasionally ponder deeply about our own. As a whole, I think I am doing reasonably well in terms of play.

Overall: 3/4

Love

money on grass

“… I don’t care too, much for money. Money can’t buy me love. Can’t buy me love….” Classic.

They say love makes the world go around. I think it at least makes your life feel warm and worthwhile.

I continue to be very happy with Nicole and we’re looking forward to spending another year growing together. While things are great between us, I sometimes feel like my time with family and other friends can improve. Due to work, I’m out of the house most days and don’t get home until late at night. Even then, various errands and side-tasks mean I don’t get to spend a lot of time just catching up with my family.

Similarly, the fact that many of my friends work overseas or are in Hong Kong but have busy schedules make it difficult for us to all meet up. Things are great with Nicole, but I think one area to work on is quality time with friends and family. Good thing Chinese New Year is just around the corner!

Overall: 2/4

SUMMING UP

notebook on desk

It’s been good to do this exercise and see how I am doing in these four facets of my life. Here are some things I can take action on:

  • Health: continue exercising and aiming to walk  10,000 steps a day
  • Work: devote more focus on career plan at work and resume work on my own book
  • Play: engage in meaningful play and don’t just procrastinate on the internet
  • Love: find quality time with family and other friends

How about you? How are you doing in these areas? Are there some areas you are doing well in and others where you need to improve on? Share your thoughts below and tune in next week for Nicole’s sharing!

Leave a Reply

